Personal Technical

Installing the Failover Clustering Feature (FAIL)

I have been looking into using Hyper-V Server and its features.  One of those features are the Clustering feature for migrations and fail-over.    After many articles telling me to do this, try that, this may work , and here is a step by step filled with many links to other pages, and sites.  I now find out the following:

Applies To: Windows Server 2008 R2

Before you can create a failover cluster, you must install the Failover Clustering feature on all servers that you want to include in the cluster. This section provides instructions for installing this feature.

Note that the Failover Clustering feature is included in server products such as Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise and Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter. The Failover Clustering feature is not included in Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard or Windows Web Server 2008 R2.

Why doesn’t anyone ever put that in their steps.   Well reader, here it is and I hope you, unlike me find this out before setting up and starting your process.

Oy vey


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.